Sometimes I wish I had an iPhone

Ben Moore iPhone

 

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it lately, but I’m a big fan of Benjamin Moore’s newest print campaign for their Ben line of paint. Imagine my delight when I heard that the company is doing even more fun things in the marketing realm.

Yup, that’s right. Benjamin Moore recently earned even more cool points by jumping on the iPhone bandwagon and launching a new, free phone application called Ben Color Capture.

How does it work? Just take a picture of your color inspiration…a great mixing bowl you saw at Crate and Barrel or a gorgeous flower you found on your last hike. Then zoom in on the color in the photo you love. The app will instantly match the color to one of Benjamin Moore’s 3,500+ color options. If you shake your phone, the app will even give you up to four color matches that harmonize well with your color inspiration. If you fall in love with one of the shades, save the virtual paint chip to a folder to reference when you hit up a store that carries Benjamin Moore paints. And if you really can’t wait to lay your hands on a can or two of that perfect hue, you can use the phone’s built-in GPS system to find the nearest store carrying Benjamin Moore products.

This sounds like such a fun app, and it’s a good opportunity for Benjamin Moore to get in front of a different, more tech savvy audience. I would have loved to use this app last year when I was picking out paint colors for my apartment and had no idea where to start. I’m bummed I don’t have an iPhone to try this out. Any iPhone users out there who have tried this app and care to share?

Leave a comment

Filed under Advertising, Mobile

Leave a Reply

